mt wallet

The Body Shop: Body Scrub (Cocoa Butter)

on April 16, 2012

TBS-cocoa-butter-body-scrub

(Image from The Body Shop product page)

My second favorite item from my last purchase is this body scrub. Here is the product description:

Best if you want to: Embrace your softer side with a creamy, chocolate-scented scrub that has exfoliating ground rice and almond shell powder.

Best for: very dry skin

How it works:
Community Trade cocoa butter, an excellent moisturizer that melts at body temperature, is rich in essential fatty acids and antioxidants.

Community Trade organic soy oil is very rich in essential fatty acids that help to repair skin’s moisture barrier, so skin is smooth and supple.

In the summer, I have normal to dry skin. However, I looked for a creamier scrub because I wanted to be moisturized while I was sloughing off dead skin. I really wanted the shea butter one, but they’d sold out online. I was deciding between cocoa butter and olive, but I didn’t know what the olive one smelled like. It was the last day of the online sale and I didn’t have time to go to a store for a smell test. I’ve smelled cocoa butter before, and it was fine to me, so I stuck with that.

Because this has almond and rice in it, it doesn’t smell as chocolatey as other cocoa butter products. It still smells nice, though.

After I put conditioner in my hair, I put it up in a bun, then turn off the showerhead, and start scrubbing! The dryer your skin, the more exfoliating it will feel, so I start with the areas where I want less scrubbing action, then simply rinse off. You’ll feel super silky smooth, partially because your body is exfoliated, and partially because your hands were exfoliated. (You’ll notice your hair feels smoother too… because your hands are softer!)

So far I’ve been using this once a week, followed by a TBS Body Butter. However, this last week, I applied a body oil (By Valenti Organics: Lavender & Lime Body Oil), and I like it so much better for post-exfoliation moisturizing!!!


thoughts?